ICT Frameworks.

So ahead of professional development I thought I would go back over the Week 7 to 10 course material and review my understanding of a few ICT integration models and other frameworks covered during my studies.  So over my next couple of blogs I am planning to look at the following

  • TPACK
  • SAMR
  • TIP
  • CLEM

I have chosen not to mention the RAT model as I believe I know have a good understanding of this model from its implementation within assignment 1 and 2 but will look to implement this further to analyse my practice when planning lessons for placement.

I will start with the SAMR model, that translates to Substitution, Augmentation, Modification and Redefinition.  I find often that I am able to cement my knowledge further with the use of multiple formats so I begin my Google search and came across the following website. This site contained a short clip that demonstrated an example model in 120 seconds (I would recommend to all). I decided to continue my search and came across the following blog that had a great image that made things even clearer for me – thanks Glenn.

So here is my version of the SAMR model, I have put in an extra row to help me.

S

A

M

R

 

Substitution

 

Augmentation Modification

Redefinition

Technology acts as a direct tool substitute with no functional change

 

Technology acts as a direct tool substitute with functional improvements Technology allows for significant task redesign.

Technology allows creation of new tasks, that before were not achievable.

No benefit – just changing how done

 

Makes life easier but no real benefit Allows some change

Go to new limits

References

Educational Technology and Mobile Learning (n.d.) SAMR Model Explained for teachers. Retrieved from: http://www.educatorstechnology.com/2013/06/samr-model-explained-for-teachers.html

Wiebe, G. (2015, November 13).  Nerdfest 2015 Day Two: Teaching above the line – using technology. Retrieved from: https://historytech.wordpress.com/2015/11/13/nerdfest-2015-day-two-teaching-above-the-line-using-technology/

Leave a Reply

