Placement Somewhere

I have now received my placement and I am getting ready to start on the 4th of October and I was lucky enough to be able to squeeze in a quick visit before the end of Term 4. The site is a relatively new school that has recently implement a 1 to 1 laptop program with the use of Mac Book Airs and has put its staff through a lot of personal development to ensure the success of the program. Though I know I have a steep learning curve, with only a basic knowledge of Macs, I am excited to be attending a school that regularly uses ICT in its practices.

  1. Context

For this placement I will at a school that opened in 2008 and caters for students from Prep to Year 6 in the northern suburbs of Brisbane. I have been placed in a Year 5 class and from my visit I can see that technology is utilised throughout curriculum planning and implemented with each student having their own Mac Book Air.

  1. Curriculum and learning objectives; and what is you have to teach.

The school makes use of the Australian Curriculum and fully implements all key learning areas, as well as the use of the religious curriculum, developed by Brisbane Catholic Education.

I look forward to getting to know this further in the coming weeks when I start placement.

Every time I attend a placement I am surprised by the changes to education from when I was at school. I know that sounds silly with me attending primary school over 20 years ago, but even working at a school for the last 7 years I find every site different. I guess some of this maybe due to the implementation of technology but also because of changes in practices.

So watch this space as I begin my journey next week.

Leave a Reply

